Are my hands too small for DB?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by CJY, May 27, 2001.

1. CJY

Apr 30, 2001
    Hello,I'm an Asian bassist who is thinking about picking up double bass.The problem is,I noticed that my hands are not very big,compared to other people.I am 1.7 m tall with a small build.The measurement of my hand(from middle finger tip to wrist) is about 18 cm(7 inches).The length of my middle finger is about 8.5cm.Are my hands too small to handle a DB,even a 1/2 or 3/4 size?Any advice for 'small' guys like me?
  2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I wouldn't worry about it. If my metric conversions are accurate, you stand about 5'6", and I've seen plenty of bassists shorter than that who do just fine on a 3/4. The important thing is (Ed, be prepared to roll your eyes and laugh) to get a teacher who can help you with your technique. I'm on the tall side (1.89m) and medium build (190 lbs. - don't ask me for kilos), and before I started I wondered if I should be stockier to play the DB, since a lot of guys I saw looked more like football players than basketball players. (I hadn't seen any female bassists yet at that point). I abused the hell out of my left hand and injured myself often while I was self taught. After I started taking lessons, the only injuries I still get are blisters on my R.H., and only then if I play 5 hours or more in a day.

One of the things I worked on a lot with my teacher was the Rabbath concept of pivoting, which made my hand seem about twice as big. With the right teacher, you'll be fine....go for it!
  3. Hi--