are new pick ups worth it?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by fcSR5k5, Nov 9, 2003.

1. fcSR5k5

Jul 8, 2003
    sorry guys, im a noob and am just getting back into playing. i have an ibanez sr5005, do new pick ups actually do much? thanx
  2. 43apples

43apples Guest

Nov 9, 2003
    Well, that is a...lame question IMO. If you think your bass sounds really really bad when plugged in, but great when played acoustically, it may be the pickups. EMG's are great :cool:

Ibeenhaad pickups doesnt tend to be very good either :rolleyes:

3. rumblethump

rumblethump Supporting Member

Mar 25, 2000
    Pioneer CA. 95666
    Yes new pickups can make a difference, but first I would try a few different types of strings and brands. What don't you like about your present sound?
  4. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    No, that's just a (partially) lame response:rolleyes: :D

It's a perfectly legitimate question, especially from a newbie.

Pickup changes "can" make a difference though it would help to know "why" you want to change them and "what" results you're looking for with that change. If you just want to change them for the sake of changing them it could end up just being a waste of money... or it get you results you never thought possible. It's a crapshoot.

I know a lot of people here like to modify their basses with new electronics and hardware, I don't subscribe to that way of thinking. IMO IME it's much cheaper in the long run to just get a bass that sounds like you want it without having to fix it. Way too many people dump money into a bass only to find they still have a bass they don't like, along with money blown investing in "fixes" that they can't recoup.