1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Are people surprised you are a musician

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by edpal, Jun 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edpal

edpal Banned

Oct 3, 2007
    mellowinman made a little snark of "I didn't know you play bass . . ." Yes, dear: piano->DB-->harp ->EB..lots of singing, spattering of tries at mandolin, violin and guitar. I could be a passable rhythm guitarist for a cover band.

I've had neighbors who were surprised to find out I'm a musician (we have a few hundred feet of distance so sound would never give me away).

Who was [seriously ] surprised to learn of your artistic leanings? Musical or otherwise.

2. fraublugher

fraublugher

Nov 19, 2004
    ottawa, ontario, canada
    music school retailer
    They're more surprised that I have an app than , the unknown implication of practice .

3. Damn near everyone I tell.

4. nukes_da_bass

nukes_da_bass Banned

Feb 19, 2006
    west suburban boston
    People are more surprised that beneath my whacked out funny lunatic surface, a deep thinking strategic warrior exists.

5. Tituscrow

Tituscrow Banned

Feb 14, 2011
    NW England
    I can help you.

You need an 80s perm, a tasseled leather jacket, and an endless stream of threads in Band Management that catalogue your dramas.

Don't forget to refer to all other members by their first names, as if we know them personally.

And don't forget a 3 day version of Freebird.

6. fhm555

fhm555 So FOS my eyes are brown Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2011
    Since music is not the center of my world, or even a large part of it for that matter, to me it's like being left handed, not something I mention when I meet someone for the first time, or ever for that matter.