Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Are stringray 5's able to get that throaty growl like a J bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Flat Bass, Jan 12, 2003.

1. Flat Bass

Flat Bass

Dec 8, 2002
    I was thinking of trying another Stingray 5 again but I love J basses. I wish I could get two J pickups in a Stingray 5 instead of the humbucker. Maybe I should get a Lakland 5 with the two J pickups?

2. why do you want a stingray if you don't like the pickup? looks?

IME, a stingray can not sound like a jazz.

3. WildBill

WildBill

Jul 7, 2002
    Massachusettes
    I was so sad because before I started playing bass the Stingray 5 was my dream bass but then I went and fell in love with Jazz basses.
    I wouldnt call it such a horrible fate. :D
    -Billy

4. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    CHICAGO,IL.
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
    With a little patience and the proper EQ it's not to far fetched.

5. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    Buying a rather expensive bass and changing one of its essential elements (the humbucker) is a waste of money.

If you want a 5er and prefer the JB pickup config, then I believe you'd better get a 5-string JB... Or, as you said, a Lakland (55-02).

6. Scott Lynch

Scott Lynch Supporting Member

MTD has a new bass out with a splittable humbucker and a jazz pickup. I'd check that out too.

7. rickreyn

rickreyn

Jun 16, 2000
    Lutz, Florida
    I think your answer is a Lakland. To get a comparable neck feel, you've got to go with the 55-94.

8. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    The Answer: Fender Roscoe Beck 5 string. Sounds like a Jazz, plays like a 'Ray.

9. Hman

Hman

Jan 8, 2002
    San Francisco, CA
    NO!

10. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia