Are Synths better than Basses?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Ilikechips, May 17, 2005.

1. Ilikechips

May 16, 2005
    I've been playing bass for about 8 months now and I was talking to my friend Dave online and we had a conversation that went like this.

Steve: Bass is great
    Dave: haha no it isn't bass is good in synths, but the actual bass guitar is squaresville
    Steve: maybe the average bass player just isn't creative with fx
    Dave: fx is expensive and you still have a lame signal to work with hah
    Steve: so the average bass player isn't expensive
    Dave: the only way a bass player becomes relevant is when he branches into other areas. It is such a weak area.
    Steve: like when he plays the melody sometimes and things like that?
    Dave: haha if he does play the melody it's in a fairly boring song,
    I'm sure you can bust it out in limited genres, but when you go further than, "I play the bassline" other instruments can do other things...a bass can't. It has such a limited harmonic spectrum when compared with drums/cymbals, and the guitar.
    Steve: a lot of what the bass does is fill in the lower end for the guitar
    Dave: when one is using filters and things, filtering a bass is pretty limited and boring (see the new NiN), but guitars, synths, and drums have a lot of options. Which is depressing if one were a dedicated bass player
    Steve: depends on the music though
    Dave: i'd say that synths do a better bass than a real bass, in almost all genres, good mono's have a far greater range of tones and abilities. Still can't beat the bass for simple applications though. Though it's easily emulated by synths if need be.
    Steve: drums and guitar can be imitated on synths too
    Dave: a real guitar can't be emulated, and neither can live drums.
    Steve: although it would be harder to improvise on a synth