1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Are tabs bad?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Twospot, Jan 18, 2012.

1. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    I am just starting out learning the bass guitar. I have a Hal Leonard book I am starting with. I am also checking out studybass.com. However to break up the reading and note practice I want to learn some songs. I see a lot of suggestions "Oh just listen to the song and figure it out" but for me just starting out I have NO CLUE what notes are what by listening.

I have also read a few posts that tabs are not the best way to go. Other than the actual accuracy of the transcription are there any downsides to tabs?

I am currently working on Foolin' by Def Leppard and My Own Worst Enemy by Lit. I found out the tab I was using for the Lit song was WAY off when I checked it out in the Bass White Pages.

2. dedpool1052

dedpool1052

Jan 10, 2011
    Seattle, WA
    yes and no. i started out using tabs because it was like sheet music for dummies. it helped in the sense that it gave me a bit of a head start playing, but hindered any desire/motivation to learn sheet music. although, it has helped to develop my ears for picking out inaccuracies in the tabs i was learning. all of this IME.

3. sonofabass

sonofabass

Feb 10, 2006
    California
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar Amplification, Mike Lull,MXR,Gruv Gear, Mono
    I, personally, equate learning tab to learning hieroglyphics. Why exert the energy learning a form of communication that no one uses (no one in the professional world will ever...not ever, use tab) .

Spend the time now to learn the language that will open far more doors.

My respectful 2 cents,
    Blyss

4. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado