1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Are there any marine biology experts here?? Questions about it.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by PatTheAnchor, Mar 28, 2009.

1. Well I'm a sophomore in high school, and I have decided that I don't want to be a lawyer, I don't want to deal with business (like Kennedy's daddy said, "They're sons of b*****s"), and I don't want to exactly become a medical doctor, but I'm still interested in science.

I want to know if these classes are good enough for setting me up for marine biology:
    AP Physics
    AP Biology
    AP Chemistry

Additionally, I want to know if there are any "sampler" summer courses hosted by Universities/colleges that are for high school students, so that I could get an idea of how it is personally.

Final questions:
    Is diving one of the required things for this field?
    How competitive is this field?
    Is it fun?

Many thanks,
    Pat :)

Edit: I'm not sure how good I am at biology, I took an honors class last year, but was asleep 40% of the time but managed to get a final average of a 91%, so I'm not sure if I should take AP Biology.
    I'm doing pretty good in honors chemistry, I currently have a 90% in the first quarter. I've been thinking about what kind of job I'll want to do, but I just couldn't see myself enjoying business or banking. Playing with turtles and studying in cool places seems more enjoyable.

Thanks again!

2. hbarcat

hbarcat Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2006
    Rochelle, Illinois
    I'm not sure what to say, except you get out only as much as you put in.

Biology, especially.