Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Are these circumstances fair?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Da LadY In Red, Oct 16, 2005.

1. The regular font stuff is background, if lazy, just skip to the italics part.

Hey, I'm a 16 year bassist (duh!) in a band that's been together for almost 2 years now. We have not played a gig yet (much to my chagrin) and are currently trying to get enough material in tip-top shape before we go shopping for gigs. We're a 3 piece that plays Phishy type music (looking for another guitarist/keyboardist).

So here's our problem. Our drummer is always busy. He goes to a very prestigious private high school and his parents don't let him practice with us on the week days. When I talk to him, it seems like he wants to practice, but I think the execution isn't too good.He's also a fairly decent drummer and a pretty cool guy.

However, in the last 4 months (round about) we've had a total of 2 practices. Both practices were pulling teeth and while either me and the guitarist had to cancel 1 practice each (death in the family and work, respectively). These 2, 2 month lastly binges of no practice have been in the most part his fault. I'm willing to give him 1 more chance because none of us drive quite yet, so it's hard to get over there as well. Also, I feel there's some problems in motivation (though minor) in the guitarist and I (though minor) between the guitarist and I.

So how does this sound, I get my license in about 2 weeks. After that, I will give him 4 weekends (a month) to double his efforts and get us going. If we don't practice once in this period (and it's his fault), the guitarist and I are going to can him and look at these 2 drummer friends, both would be wilder drummer, but probably not quite as solid.

Does this sound fair? Is there a better solution?

Thanks

2. Lowtonejoe