Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Are you an artist or performer?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by jive1, Sep 9, 2003.

1. jive1

jive1 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 16, 2003
    Alexandria,VA
    Owner/Retailer: Jive Sound
    There seems to be a divide between being an artist, and a performer. Where do you guys fit in this spectrum?

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Musician!

3. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    I am an artist that happens to be a perfomer. like most painters that perform when they paint( think Jackson Pollock.)

It's an interesting tidbit that during the Baroque era of music (1685-1750) The order of importance and artistry in music went like this:
    1.Composer -the creator so therefore the true "artist."

2. The performer - Merely the "executant" of composed works so on a lower rung than the comoposer. It is interesing to note however that most Baroque musicians could improvise their butt;s off - they had to becuase much of the written music was incomplete.

For instance the concept of "thorough bass" which was generally the parts for the harpsichord and the gamba or the cello. The harpsichord parts genereally only had one line of the counterpoint written out and by reading symbols placed above the music the performer was expected to "fill in the blanks."

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I'm a bass player. Just a bass player, that's all.

This reminds me of an interview with Johnny Kruk, the former baseball player and one-time Padre, in which the interviewer referred to Kruk as an "athlete." Kruk responded, "I'm not an athlete, I'm a baseball player."

I'm not a musician. I'm a bass player.