1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Are you more attracted to Fender or Gibson Guitars ?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by MAJOR METAL, Sep 24, 2008.

1. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL The Beagle Father Supporting Member

Are you more attracted to Fender or Gibson Guitars ? Over all Gibson does it more for me although the Fender Paisley is my favorite Fender.

2. Fender

3. NS2A

NS2A

Apr 3, 2008
    Gibson. Although I can't play them. I like the Tele also, especially the Paisley, but again, they feel weird in my hand.

For playability, I like the Ibanez Jem and Jem knockoffs like the RG's.

4. Joe Gress

Joe Gress

Dec 22, 2005
    Pueblo, CO
    Fender

5. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone. Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    Gibson. I've been playing Les Pauls for over 25 years. I own Fenders (and other brands), but Gibson Les Pauls feel like home to me. :)

6. Hoover

Hoover Banned

Nov 2, 2007
    New York City
    Gibson, by a landslide. If I had an unlimited bank account (and unlimited space to store guitars) I'd own a Les Paul Custom, an L-5S, an ES-345TD, an S-400CES, a Pat Martino Signature, an SG Custom, a Firebird VII, and a Hummingbird of some sort. The only Fenders on that wish list would be a Telecaster, a '72 Telecaster Thinline, and a Stratocaster of some sort.

The party line when I was growing up & getting into guitars in the early 1970's was that Gibson knew how to make killer guitars but didn't make a decent bass to save their life; and that Fender was just the opposite. It took me several decades to appreciate the things that Fender guitars are good at, but I still find that characterization essentially accurate.

7. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL The Beagle Father Supporting Member

Joe likes Fender.

8. lbanks

lbanks

Jul 17, 2003
    Ennui, IN USA
    Guitars are all the same to me... too small.