Are You Pedigreed?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by rickbass, Jan 7, 2001.

1. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

After seeing some TalkBassers' web pages, I am interested to find out...Do you come from a musical family/home, (I did), and if so, what were your early influences?
    If not, that's cool, too. How did you get serious enough to spend at least a few hundred/grand on gear, lessons, et al?
  2. I'm the first one in my family to start to actually play an instrument.. happily it was bass.. but when I was growing up I wanted to play trumpet, tromboners(hehe), and other instrument but never got to =P I wanted to perform the music I love and also create my own as well.

3. Both Grandparents on Mom's side of the family played and sang, so did mom and aunt. I started playing trumpet (like Grandpa and mom) when I was in 2nd grade, then switched to Trombone in 6th because I could hear and feel harmony better than melody. And I just liked that lower sound. Grew up listening to jazz- Stan Kenton, Basie, Ellington, etc.
    Started bass in High School and haven't been "right" since.

Dad's side was all country and hillbilly- Merle, Johnny. and the Dillards (they were the "Darlins" on Andy Griffith).It took me a lonnnnnnnnnng time to develop an appreciation for country. I admire the musicianship, but the music still drives me nuts quickly.

Actually, it was Zappa, Bartok, Stravinsky and Mingus that warped me.
    Gimme rhythm or give me death.
  4. CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    Moms side-no music players @ all.
    Dads side:Grandma used to be in a Jazz/Dance band on Sax, Dad used to play sax, fife, & guitar. Uncle plays bass & guitar. Aunt used to be a drummer, cousin plays bass & drums. other cousin plays guitar, yet another cousin played the BIG Drum @ purdue & plays sax. Sister-baritone, me-bass,cello, little bit of keyboard/piano-soon to come g**tar.
  5. snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains