Are you using neodymium speakers?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jonny B, May 20, 2007.

1. Yes

157 vote(s)
    54.0%
  2. No

99 vote(s)
    34.0%
  3. Neo... What?

17 vote(s)
    5.8%
  4. I'm using carrot speakers, thanks.

18 vote(s)
    6.2%
  1. Jonny B

Jonny B

Nov 5, 2006
    WI
    I've been using Peavey's Tour 410's for 4-5 months now and almost don't mind loading and unloading these days. I think they sound amazing, are as ruugged as a tank (ain't all of Peavey's gear?), and are oh so light. So who else is using neodymium these days, what brand and are you happy with the overall sound and weight?

2. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    Easy loading. Love it.

3. Jeralya

Jeralya

Sep 7, 2006
    Chicago, IL
    Avatar Neo 410, sounds great, loads easy, and low end to spare!

4. jtc_hunter

jtc_hunter

Feb 16, 2007
    Avatar 212 and 210, all I could ever want!

5. Lia_G

Lia_G

Oct 27, 2005
    genz benz neox212t and neox112t ... awesome tone and light weight.

Liam

6. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Gold Supporting Member

Because of my bad back, I sold a bunch of heavy cabs and bought Epifani Ultralights. I've gigged with both a single 410UL and a 410UL/210UL stack. The portability is just amazing... bandmates have literally said "jeez, are you sure you have speakers in this box??"

As for the sound: it's really good. There's a bump in the high mids, and the low end is amazingly huge. For some of us, this is the shiznit. But the unfortunate fact is that the Epis don't have my sound: I prefer lower mids and tighter low end. So, I use my neo cabs for rehearsals, and as emergency backup for when my herniated disks act up again.