1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Area J + Model J combination?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Formula144, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Formula144

Formula144

Sep 27, 2011
    I'm a beginner with a Squier VM 70s Jazz. I know hardware won't make me play better, but I like to tinker. I'd like a wider range of tones than I can get from the stock instrument. Thinking about a mixed set of pickups -- a Model J at the bridge and an Area J at the neck. Comments / suggestions / emotional outbursts?

2. acebase62

acebase62

Jun 29, 2010
    If combining 2 different Dimarzios, I would probably put the Model J for the neck and the Area J for the bridge.

I usually prefer a more vintage bridge tone, and I hear that the Model J in neck position gives a good thick tone, if that's what you want.

Check out the Dimarzio site for T/M/B descriptions, and best of luck.

3. NKBassman

NKBassman Lvl 10 Nerd Supporting Member

Jun 16, 2009
    Winnipeg, MB, Canada
    I'd lean more towards a matched set, but maybe that's just mild OCD.

What's your reasoning behind your choices there?

4. Coolhandjjl

Coolhandjjl Supporting Member

Oct 13, 2010
    Appleton
    I put a Model J with a 500K push/pull vol pot in my Hamer Cruise Bass'es neck and left the stock Seymour Duncan SJB-1 Vintage in the bridge. Gives me a thick tone when needed, and using the push/pull opens it up to a hollow woody tone.

5. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned Commercial User

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    It's not a bad idea if you want a thicker sounding bridge and a cleaner sounding neck pickup.

They are similar in output, but the Area J is brighter. An UltraJazz would work well at the bridge too.

6. sotua

sotua

Sep 20, 2004
    SF Bay Area