Arg - Bass amp Dilemna!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by red40, Mar 25, 2003.

1. red40

Mar 25, 2003
    Wilmington, DE
    Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, though I used to post in the newsgroups and I hang out on HC too. I play in red number40 and have been playing bass for a few years now.

My band has been recording and its left me frustrated trying to get the right tone not only for recording but for live shows (I am going for a similar sound for both). I use a Gibson Ripper bass or RD Artist through a PSA-1 preamp, then a 72 SVT as the power amp. My cabs are an SWR Goliath III and Son of Bertha.

Here's my problem, the bass just seems a little too muddy, sometimes with this odd midrange thing going on, but not a good midrange and not a growly midrange. When we record I don't use the 1x15 so it isn't that. And the SVT preamp sounds muddier than the PSA-1, so it isn't that. So its either my Gibson basses, the Ampeg SVT or the SWR 4x10. I am going for something that rumbles a bit but I do want some clear midrange for when I am doing more than root notes. Its indie rock/power pop so I don't need jazz-like clarity. Any idea what part of my setup is lacking? I know its a lot of variables and I was planning on trying some different cabs and maybe even selling out and trying a P or J bass :)

I've been reading a bit and options for cabs include a real Ampeg 8x10, though last time I tried new Ampeg 4x10s I thought they were incredibly muddy. There's also the SWR Henry 8x8 or even a Mesa cab. I definitely appeciate the help and sorry for dumping a novel in here on my first post
  2. baba

baba Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2002
    3rd stone from the sun
    All I can speak for is the Goliath III. Rest assured this is not creating your mud. It's something else.
  3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    I hate to say that is likely your basses.

An SVT head into a Goliath is not what I would call a muddy rig.