Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Argh! I know nothing

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by d8g3jdh, Sep 12, 2005.

1. d8g3jdh

d8g3jdh Guest

Aug 9, 2005
    I am the first to say that everything i know about basses (not playing bass) i have learned from talkbass, along with a little help from the dudepit. It is because of these sites that i even discovered G&L, which lead me to buy a new tribute L-2000 which is now a serious part of my life.

However, with the purchase of this fine machine i realized that my fender BXR 75-watt amp is decent, but really doesn't do it justice. So i think i need a new amp, but i am new to bass in general and i realized that i know nothing about amps, and wanted some help. Now this purchase probably wont be for a while, so by then all the information that i gather now may be obselete, but ill venture into these uncharted water anyways.

So here goes, these are things i want to know:

1 - Should i look into a pre-amp? And what is a pre-amp? and do any good ones exist that wont break my bank?

2 - Should i look into a power-amp? And what is a power-amp? and do any good ones exist that wont break my bank?

3 - What are some good amps to combine with my current G&L tribute L-2000, for someone who plays classic rock, some metal, and some slap, and would only get an amp that can give good tones for all three for a reasonable price.

4 - should i put all my money into just a pre-amp, or just an amp, or just a power amp, or a combination that splits my funds?

Also what do the following words mean
    Head
    Cab
    tube
    pre-amp
    power-amp

thanks for any info given!

peace

2. xb100

xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    You can find PLENTY of power amps and pre amps that wont kill your bank account.

qsc audio make great power amps IMO. You can also check out tech21 and bbe they have pre amps for 300$