Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Armando Gola on Gonzalo Rubalcaba's "Paseo"

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Lorenzini, Jan 12, 2006.

1. Lorenzini

Lorenzini

Dec 31, 2004
    Los Angeles
    So I've been listening to this for like 5 months very consistently. It's a great album. So much to it, very complex harmonies but I don't know if many people on this forum would dig it, save for David Ben., r-raj and the fellow who loves Steve Swallow.

I urge you all to buy this album and check out Miami bassist Armando Gola's tone, which, if I'm not mistaken, comes from s maple boarded Modulus Q5.

He has a very original, sharp as a tac sound. My friend plays drums with him and says his axes include the Modulus, a Yamaha and in the past, a 55-94. He's also a virtuoso on the DB.

2. Armando Gola is the man! I freaked out when I first heard the Paseo album. I really like Armando's sound on that recording. More people should be exposed to that one. Without even hearing it, some people automatically expect it to sound like Rapsodia, with its' heavy programming, not-very-subtle keyboard patches and ultra-cerebral delivery. Paseo is quite different and Armando's playing on it is one of the key factors. Whenever I recommend Gonzalo albums to someone, this one is always included.

Wow, your friend plays drums with him? He must be a bad-@$% drummer!
    I didn't know that Mr. Gola is equally proficient on DB! Tell us more, tell us more!!

Brad

3. j-raj

j-raj Bassist: Educator/Soloist/Performer Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!
    Gola is a badA$$!!!! Love his ability to groove.

4. Lorenzini

Lorenzini

Dec 31, 2004
    Los Angeles