Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Arrghh! Can't find a band!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Cambass, Jul 12, 2001.

1. Well, I've been playing for 2 years. Actually I've been playing in my room for two years. I just want to get out there and play! Problem is I can't find a band. I always look in the music shop notice boards in town but most ads are for heavy metal, punk or Limp Biscuit clone bands (Which is very far from what I want to play). At the start of this year I did join up with a guy but he's deserted me and joined another band.

I'm getting worried that if I don't start playing with other musicians soon that it'll be too late. Have I left it too late to start playing? I mean, I practise every day and I think I'm coming along ok, but I think I could progress 10 fold if I join a band. Plus, it affects my confidence to go out there and offer my services as a bassplayer. What if I'm no good or I stuff majorly?

2. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    Audition for all the local bands, at least you will get experience re auditions. I suggest being a bit mercenary and joining one of the Blimp Riskit clones whatever (just pick one with decent people in it) if asked of course and get some experience playing. Stick with it and get some gigs. Whilst this goes on look around for other musicians and try writing some stuff, then you can form your own band latter. When leaving any band give them loads of notice fulfil existing commitments and give a good reason for leaving

You could even be honest enough to tell them up front its a stop gap. I have found that honesty is the best policy. (I have not got any friends though).

3. foolfighter24

foolfighter24 Guest

Apr 22, 2000
    Arizona