1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Art Tube channel tube rolling

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 2milehighspike, Oct 17, 2020.

1. 2milehighspike

2milehighspike Supporting Member

Greetings all, I have an Art Tube Channel that has 2 12ax7a tubes. Ther has always been a slight hiss but it has gotten worse recently and I am thinking I might swap the tubes. I am looking for the quietest set and not looking for any overdrive, just warmth. After some research the 12au7 tubes might be what I’m looking for but I am by no means a tube expert. So any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

2. rickdog

rickdog Gold Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2010
    I'd be dubious about changing tube types. Substituting different tubes in a preamp or amp that's being operated for its "character" (meaning, may be driven into at least mild distortion) can be useful. But the Tube Channel is meant to be more in the line of studio gear that's run pretty clean; and you aren't looking for any overdrive. My guess (and it's only a guess) is that you're more likely to lose than gain in the swap. 12AX7 and 12AU7 have vastly different gain and operating points.

Rather than switching types, consider simply switching brands (and getting brand new tubes in the process). Just because the tubes are running relatively clean, it doesn't mean they don't have any effect on the sound. If I were going to try tube rolling in that unit, I'd probably try a JJ ECC803S and a New Sensor TungSol reissue 12AX7. Fortunately, good preamp tubes can be found in the $12-$20 price range, so experimenting isn't very costly.

I used to have a Tube Channel, and really liked it (actually, not for bass, but as a mic preamp for a vocalist I was working with). Sadly, it was stolen... happily, the meth-heads that took it didn't touch my two favorite basses sitting a few feet way.