1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Artificial Harmonics: Quicker Lines, Sweep Arpeggios and Ostinatos

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Brasheron, Aug 29, 2008.

1. Brasheron

Brasheron

Mar 28, 2006
    Hey guys.

I'm really new to this whole forum dealie, but here's my two cents on artificials:
    Steve Bailey's system of picking behind the index finger works well, but like most systems for artificials its really slow. Its hard to get sixteenth note runs past 100 bpm, but check this out. If you use a fingernail (middle or ring or even pinky) behind the index, you can pluck the string from below as usual and also strum down pick-style with no difference tonally. in comparison, the harmonic usually comes out cleaner and clearer than when the pad of the finger is used. using this up and down motion makes 16th notes at 150 bpm a piece of cake. check out the beginning and end of this tune I'm working on called "Impermanent Ink" as well as some of the harmonic stuff in "While She Slept" on myspace: Click Here.
    Also, I'm not quite that coordinated yet, but it makes playing quicker lines a lot easier, and more comparable in tone and speed to a guitar player. its moving that index-node along with the left hand that becomes the chore. but wiggling your first finger is a hell of a lot easier than trying to move your thumb back and forth at 150 bpm sixteenths. plus it makes raking the strings super easy. questions/comments? thanks for reading.

Andrew

2. HaVIC5

HaVIC5

Aug 22, 2003
    Brooklyn, NYC
    http://www.myspace.com/andrewsheron (you typed it in wrong in your link)