1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Artistry:What made you want to become a bassist?When did you"know"?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Tehrin Cole, Apr 23, 2009.

1. Tehrin Cole

Tehrin Cole

Mar 6, 2009
    Brooklyn,New York
    Endorsing Artist:Kustom Amplifiers
    Hey,fellow bassists!What's up?In this thread,I'd like to ask:"What made you decide to become a bassist"?Even further:"When did you"know",that was is it?I've been playing now,for 40 years,and I STILL remember my first time,as if it were yesterday!As we all know,the bass is a very powerful instrument,...and rather contagious when you pick it up,for the first time!I was always drawn to the bass,and somehow I knew that,if I could only get my hands on one,I would be great at it.When I finally did,...it was better than I expected!I knew then,I didn't want to play anything else!So the question remains:"When did you"know"? Peace!

2. southernrocker

southernrocker Banned

Apr 4, 2009
    When I heard rush. I was sitting in my room, reading Popular Science, and I heard the solo section of Tom Sawyer. Until that point, as soon as I heard Geddy's voice, I would change the channel. That time, though, I was in a good article and was too lazy to turn the station. Good thing I didn't!

3. rosanne

rosanne

Sep 30, 2004
    SF Bay Area
    It's not like I always wanted to play bass, or that I liked a particular bassist's work. (Back in the day I was even a guitarist). I was visiting a friend's studio one day and he handed me a bass and said here try this. I played 2 notes and that's all it took. Revelation, epiphany, call it what you want, those 2 notes changed my life. I'm not the best player but I'm devoted to the bass. I just wish I had found it sooner in life. But at least I found it!

4. Shoot_A_Hostage

Shoot_A_Hostage