1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

As a total newbie, is it OK to play around with tabs?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BassOfDiamonds, Jul 19, 2012.

1. So I had my first lesson ever last week (first time ever playing a musical instrument), and I practice daily.

I always start off by doing the exercises my instructor provided me, but then once I nail those to my satisfaction, I end up not wanting to stop there.

So then I end up playing the bass lines I remember from songs by ear, and recently, looking up tabs for more bass lines to play.

Given that these songs require fretting/techniques that I haven't been taught yet, and I'm only improvising like the amateur I am, I'm most likely going "out of bounds" and doing everything wrong, lol. I just rely on sound.

Today I asked two musician friends about this. One, a guitarist, said that it was the way to go - learn on my feet, etc. He said he was mostly self-taught.

Another, a violinist, jumped on my ass about it. lol He said that I was undoubtedly "instilling bad habits" in myself.

If I'm focusing on proper, taught technique for the instructor-provided exercises, and doing my best to maintain the fundamentals when I branch off and have a little fun with my bass, is the violinist guy right in that it's a bad idea? To me, it's just exploration of the instrument and what it can do - what my instructor says definitely takes precedence, since I want to do things right, ultimately.

I'm hoping the guitarist is right. :p

2. As long as you show your teacher what you've been working on by yourself I don't see any problems. Your teacher will fix any bad habits you may be developing.