Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ashbory opinions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by byrdsfan, Feb 24, 2005.

1. byrdsfan

byrdsfan

Feb 9, 2004
    L.I.
    Talk me into or out of getting an Ashbory bass.
    On one hand:
    I have six basses, actually seven but one is going to be given away (Im a terrible salesman). I hardly play. My band has done two parties and two open mics in a a year and half and is always in danger of breaking up (but we did do a nice recording session and actually got some noncommercial radio play). I work nights (but have Friday ad Saturday off). I get through my bass lessons by cramming the night before like im still in college. My credit cards are maxed and my anniversay and my wife's birthday are coming up. I had no interest in fretless bass, until now.
    On the other:
    I'm going away on vacation next week. We have a gig (ok a another open mic) the night after i come back. It will be all new songs. I dont want to carry a real bass on the plane (even though i have two short scales). The thought of playing this this at my brother's Mexican beach house (he's the businessman in the family) gives me a warm feeling. I've already mentioned it to my wife and she did not have a fit. Maybe she's given up.
    I see it for like $259 online. I dont know of any place near me (Long Island) that has it.
    I do travel a lot.
    Most important, it's cute.
    Will my limited skills keep me from enjoying this?
    Even more important: What's the best color? Im thinking black because it looks less like a toy. But maybe blue ...

2. N*Joy

N*Joy

Nov 30, 2002
    Birmingham, UK
    It is not a 'traveller' bass, neither is it a fretless bass - it's pretty much on its own as an instrument. Plays nothing like a regular bass (rubber strings!)

If you want one for travelling, get a steinberger.

3. andruca

andruca

Mar 31, 2004