1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ashdown Behringer Combonation

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Davebass, Nov 28, 2006.

1. alright all?

right here is the situation, i am currentley living on -£25 a week and i need a bass amp for medium sized gigs, 650 people tops. but i work as a volunteer for this local promotion company, and we are set to get a grant to get some new equipment. good thing about this is, although ill have to to take it to every gig we need it at, i get to keep it and use it at my gigs outside the company.

so i played a full behringer ULTRABASS BX4500H / ULTRABASS BB410 about 2 weeks ago, it was alright but it was a tad to tiny for me. i guess its due to the aliminium cones.

im also looking at a ashdown mag 300watt head + 4x10 ashdown mag cab for it. but from what ive heard the head may have reliability issues. bit of a concern when we get some nut case bassists plating.

so i i was to use the head form the behringer and the cab from the ashdown would that be better than getting the full behringer combo or the full ashdown combo?

am i going along the right lines or am i way off?

Cheers

Dave

2. and just as i say that GK backline 600 head and 2x10 + 1x15 GK backline cabs came into mind

any help?

3. HeavyFingers

HeavyFingers

Mar 18, 2006
    NOVA
    I've owned the behringer head - not too bad for the price - but I've never had any experience with the ashdown gear. I am currently using the behringer 410 cab (with paper cones) and it just kinda seems like the sounds that come out of it are kinda...bland I guess and can be a bit boomy in the low-end. I'm running a SWR head so I don't think thats the problem ;) . I'm looking to upgrade to an avatar cab as soon as I get the $$$. Hope this helps.