Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ashdown Mag 300H with 4x10 and 1x15 Cabs...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Martybass, May 29, 2005.

1. ...Or can I do better in the (approximate) price range?

I'm a complete rig newbie and I'm looking for a replacement for my Peavey TKO combo. I've played the Ashdown rig (though not with my bass, they had the same model at the shop but they refused to get it out of the security link, and I was on holiday so didn't have my own) and I quite liked it. But yeah, just wondering if there were better deals out there.

My band is primarily medium alternative rock but we have a tendency to move away from that at times so I'd like a 'jack of all trades' as far as that is possible. I like my Peavey's tones though some can be a bit toooo clanky.

Oh, and I play mainly fingerstyle, but pickstyle and slap have their places too.

Sorry if this is alot to take in or if it's asking too much :bag:, I'm just trying to cover all the bases in what and how I play.

So yeah, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Once I have an idea of course I'll try to test them out but a few starting points would be nice :)

Cheers,
    Marty

2. Bump...

Someone please help, you're all fab! :p

3. Warwick player

Warwick player

Dec 31, 2002
    Bucks, UK
    I'm in the same boat. At the minute i have a B150, but it becoming such a pain to cart around, albeit a really nice solid amp, its just too much. I'm thinking of buying a head and cab along the lines of Ashdown, i have tried them at the local rehersal studios and they are nice.

The best thing to do is get out and try as much gear as you can. See what is out there for your cash. What is your total, about £1k? For that there is quiet a choice. Do a lot of online research as well.

Cheers and Beers

Andy