Asking For A Favor

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Petary791, Feb 25, 2005.

1. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Disclaimer: I do not know if this is the right section.

I don't want to sound like a demanding little d*ck, but, I saw that on Warmoth you can make your own custom design. I was wondering if somebody could sketch this for me (i'm a god awful artist.)

You guys are awesome, thanks!
  2. Here's the thing Pet, bass building is a fraternity. From the highest pinnacle of the art occupied by guys like Carl Thompson, Rick Turner, and Ken Smith, to the barrio of building squatted on by guys like me, there is a connection we all share. Part of this connection is a respect for the individuals design effort. These shapes are not chosen randomly or hastily but rather are developed over a long period of time to be what we see today. That's a lot of work. Because of this, I myself and most of the builders/designers I know, won't copy a design from another builder. If you want to copy the Carl Thompson design, no one can stop you, not even Carl, but you should ask him directly if you can snag it for your project. He might be perfectly willing or he might adamantly reject your request but either way, he will respect your asking and, in the end, you'll feel better about it.

And no matter what you read, I'm almost certain Warmoth won't build that for you. That is a neckthru bass. PM bwbass and ask. He works for Warmoth.
  3. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    interesting design....t
  4. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    I kinda figured that hambone.

I guess i'll take initiative and draw my own design!

5. JTGale

Oct 26, 2004
    Hummelstown, PA
    Nice turn of phrase! :D

(Of course, my day job is working with words ... :( )
  6. andvari7

Aug 28, 2004