assembling a band from scratch

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Slap Bass Ninja, Jan 30, 2003.

1. i'm a very decent bassist
    i have alot of energy onstage
    i don't really have the "pro" attitude because i love to muck around and have fun with band members, do drugs and stuff you know, just generally party
    but i'm willing to change
    i'm affable and friendly to most people i meet

how do i go about finding a drummer, a singer, a couple of guitarists and a keyboardist?

i want to start a band from scratch, shape it with my own direction but use the other musicians' ideas and talents to maximise the effect of the music

but i have no idea how to go about finding all these other musicians, and from scratch

any help, any help at all, will be appreciated

thankyou for your time

PS - any bassists in the central coast, nsw, australia region, interested in an avante garde two-bass project perhaps with primus influences, post your replies!
  2. Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    Well, I think you must be on the right track. Being energetic and having fun on the stage is the half what it takes, and being nice to people helps alot.

Just remember that in band, everyone should be able to say what they want.

For finding people, see if there's sort of musicians web board in Australia, look for musicians wanted -ads at local guitar stores, search the local music magazines, go to jams and gigs.. Look everywhere, players aren't so hard to find than you'd think.
  3. tucker

tucker Guest

Jan 21, 2001
    North Carolina
    "i want to start a band from scratch, shape it with my own direction but use the other musicians' ideas and talents to maximise the effect of the music"
    -Slap Bass Ninja

You can't tune bass strings all the same note or else they'll break. Each string requires there own seperate frequency and note value. Keep this in mind next time you tune your bass strings.

Just think about it. This will be helpful for you and anyone else.