1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

At a crossroads: is the band or the music more important?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by wafflepower, Jun 19, 2017.

Tags:
  1. wafflepower

wafflepower

Jun 19, 2017
    Apologies in advance for the long post, but after my band's latest show I've become so frustrated that I'm thinking of retiring from music. After 10 years of playing live with the same band, I've reached a dilemma. I love the people I play with, which is why I've been with them so long, but I'm growing increasingly dissatisfied with the quality of our music. At this point, I'm beginning to wonder whether the band or the music is more important.

Here's some background. I started playing with this band when I was 17 and have never so much as sat in with another band. I've played practically every instrument at one point or another, but I prefer bass. All of the other members have been much older and more skilled than me (typically 40s-50s in age), including my dear old dad. Players have come and gone over the years, but right now we have a total of 5 guys who all enjoy each others' company and work well together. We've never lacked for work and average 5-6 shows per month, which is the most any of us want to play. The only problem is that the quality of the music is now worse than it's ever been.