At what point did you become good?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Mikey96, Aug 31, 2001.

1. Just wondering, at what point you guys became comfortable with your own ability to hold down your end of the bargain, when you truly knew that you could play with a band and not be embarrased no matter the situation.

Me personally I have been playing for 13 months, and I am seeing large improvements (I really started progressing faster after I started lessons in May), and I think in about decemeber (if I keep practicing everyday for at least and hour and a half like I have been) I will have that major breakthrough and be comfortable, and no longer say I "suck".
  2. well.. once you decide to play bass.. you're good. :)

no just kidding.. you cannot judge about your own playing.. other people have to judge for you. :)
  3. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    No actually, I'm a self decreed bass god at this point.

j/k, AllodoX is right, you'll get feedback eventually.
  4. pmkelly

Nov 28, 2000
    Kansas City, MO
    I know from the responses from the people I play with that I am an accomplished bassist... however, half the fun of it for me is to continue to pursue that style, that playing that I hear in my head and that I know that one day I will be able to do.... since I am not there yet, I continue to believe that I am not that good yet...

5. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Hmmm... I don't think I would ever be that overconfident! I've played in bands for over 20 years, but I still feel the ever-present potential bananaskins, every time you get up to play.