Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

ATF's First Recorded Song

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Juneau, Aug 4, 2004.

1. Juneau

Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    Hi all,

A lifelong friend of mine and I started playing together about 10 months ago, me on Bass, him on Drums (and eventually guitar and organ/piano as well.) My friend, Kevin Luther wrote the material and played all the tracks on this song aside from the bass as well as mastered it. It was all done on a home computer with an Audigy EX Sound card, and Adobe Audition Software. The bass was done on my Dingwall Afterburner 5, straight into the mixer, into the sound card.

Really appreciate any comments, criticisms, or compliments in advance.

American Transient Funk - Songs

[edit] 11/15 - Changed Links to Purevolume - Completed Songs will go up as they are done! [/edit]

2. freakbass

freakbass "Pile-drivingly Heavy" since 1983

A little constructive criticism.

The initial bass part may be a little too complex. It just doesn't seem to groove well. I think if you played the same relative "shape" on the fretboard, but not so many notes, it would be pretty sweet. About :50 in is really cool. I dig the bass/piano part.

Very nice for a first recording. Keep it up!

3. Juneau

Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    Yeah the timing on that bass part isnt exactly right either, he nudged some things around on it, and I think it flowed better in its original concept. Im going over to re-record some this weekend, maybe Ill get a recording I like better to replace it with. Anyhow, thanks for checking it out Freakbass, appreciate the criticism.

4. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    I really like it, very groovy. I actually like the intro as it is.

Though, I feel the song would benefit from different, more "constant" drumming to support and add to your bassline.