1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Audacity users

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by adam precision, Apr 22, 2009.

1. adam precision

adam precision

Mar 26, 2008
    Ireland
    Hi TBers,
    I use a hand held recorder to record gigs and practices. I then edit the wav files using audacity.
    I use effects such as compressor, amplify and normalize on tracks but it seems to lose something when i do this.
    What order generally speaking should I use these effects to get the best results?

Any general tips to help my recordings would be appreciated, I'm quite new to this.

Cheers

2. Sounds pretty much like my setup. I use my trusty old M-Audio Microtrack 24/96, recording to 24-bit 96-kHz .wav files. I use Audacity to edit for sharing over the web. I rarely use the compressor tool, but I amplify just about every track (my recorder, like many of the same generation, will clip if the levels are set too high, so I generally keep them low and then crank 'em up with software). I'll crop and fade in/out, and then usually export to .mp3. If I'm sharing a number of tracks, I will normalize them to prevent huge peaks and valleys from one to another.

When I first started experimentation was the key to learning a bit. Save your raw files, and just make copies of them for editing within Audacity. From there you can play around and see what works best for you in editing. Good luck!

3. Geberally speaking: