1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Audition for Music Program at College...HELP!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by nathan, Apr 10, 2006.

1. nathan

nathan

Jul 16, 2004
    I just got accepted into UNC-Asheville, and i'm planning on studying Music Technology there for the next four years. The Problem is that I need to audition to get into this program. I've played the electric bass for 6 years now. I've had some experience with a little bit of jazz, but for the most part i've been playing rock music for those six years. If you asked me to do a walking line over a jazz progression, it would be pretty awkward. I would like to think that i'm a decent bass player, but i'm not sure if my rock playing could get me past these auditions....

Has anybody been in this situation before? Does anybody know anything I could learn fairly quickly that would impress some judges? Classical pieces maybe? Famous Jazz tunes?

I'm in urgent need here, any help would be great.

Thanks

2. JtheJazzMan

JtheJazzMan

Apr 10, 2006
    Australia
    i was in a similar situation a few years back. if your not comfortable with doing walking lines, a good starting point is to show you know the triads for each chord. thats a good starting point for the walking line. playing different permutations of R -3rd-5th-R, R-5-R-3 etc etc

also, being able to sight read is a huge bonus. a bass player who can sight read is going to have an advantage in their work, so hopefully the people marking you will see that.

any background theory in jazz, modes scales etc is also handy