Auditioning at college/university with a cheap instrument?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by RiseOfTheWooten, Mar 7, 2006.

1. Does the make or quality of your instrument make any difference if one was to audition for a place at university? Would they pay any notice to what you're playing, in contrast to how you're playing it?

I'm talking about walking in with a cheap Chinese-made doublebass of a lesser-known (or no-brand) make. Say if you kept the instrument in good nick and everything works as it should, I can imagine the only problem might be intonation at the audition?
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

To be honest I have no knowledge or experience of this situation - but as a big fan of orchestral/chamber music etc. - you seem to be leaving out the one big thing ...

That is - it's all about having good tone and making a beautiful sound - if you make a wonderful sound, then who cares what it is you're playing!! :)

Conversely - I would have thought a nasty sound is going to detract from any performance...but as I say, I have no experience of this situation,though it must be a natural reaction for any music lover....? :meh:
  3. Agree, as long as the instrument can produce the right sound-true bass sound, and allow you to play beautifully music and tone, who cares the brand-any company can put their brand on the bass.

I can imagine you cannot go into an singing audition with a broken voice, right?
  4. on a DB, intonation is in your hands and not determined by the instrument. Of course, it has to sound good. My opinion is: if you can play it with a good sound and intonation, it will suit just fine. If it is hindering your ability to play the audition piece, find something else.
  5. bpclark

Apr 30, 2003
    West Central, OH