1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Auditioning Members Tips/Advice

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Piggy8692, Mar 19, 2013.

1. Piggy8692

Piggy8692

Oct 2, 2010
    Northern Utah
    Hey guys.

I'll be trying out some musicians here in a little bit for my prog/metal/whatever band. I have tried out people before in other bands, and have tried out for a handful myself. But I have never had TB to bounce ideas off of. :D

To start, I've been working with a guitarist for a few months. We've come up with some original material and will probably be auditioning a drummer first, then guitarist then singer. Preferrably in that order.

What kind of 'exercises' would you guys suggest throwing at these guys? Apart from just saying "Well, here's what we have. What would you do with it??" Or just jamming around to see what they would come up with on the spot.

What do you guys do that seems to work? Obviously none if this really can tell flakes from non-flakes, or other personality flaws. I'll have to do that the fun way!

Thanks in advance.

2. Raymeous

Raymeous

Jul 2, 2010
    San Diego
    Treat this like it what it is: a job interview. Be professional about it. Get YOUR *poop* together BEFORE the day of the audition. Just remember that TIME is the number one commodity here. Make good use of it and don’t waste any. Set up a schedule to help keep things moving. There's five more guys waiting outside for this first guy to leave! Let's go! Let's go!

BEFORE THE AUDITION: