1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Auditions: They go Both Ways

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by P. Aaron, Nov 21, 2010.

1. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member

Yup. That's me lately. Auditions. I have been on 3 now in the last 3 weeks. Most bands are made up of mostly good folks looking for personnel to stay current and/or improve. Many ads (GIGS PENDING! types) I have replied to can't seem to herd their cats & schedule things.

I am a good bassist for rock & pop tunes. Don't stand a chance w/Jazz. I am always working to improve my skills & learn new songs.

The auditions I have been to were fun...at least fun to play again after recovering. My skill level is even a bit better though I'm a bit off from not playing live in over a year. After 7 years in the last act, I am also deciding: Do I want to join another cover band or, something a bit different?

Thanks to You-Tube, I can evaluate some of these acts to get a 'visual' impression before contacting them.

I always over practice for these things, and ask for the bands to do a few songs not on the list I was given. At the same time, I listen to who I am auditioning for. I am also evaluating their skills...hoping they're better than mine. I always bring my rig too. I want to get my sound anywhere. Many offer their PA-plug-in over the phone. Which would you trust: Your gear, or a PA you haven't ever seen?

Most bands' song selections have been pretty good. I also look for a good front-person to take the heat off the backing band and if they make the band an act. How sellable the over-all product is, I ask...about where they have gigged, not their 'connections'.

I haven't been to an audition yet where I want that job. If I walk into a situation and the skill level is higher than my capabilities, all I can do is hope. But that's the job I want! I can dream too y'know?