1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Audix D6 vs Heil Pr40 vs Shure B52A vs AKG D112

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by jzbass6, Mar 12, 2010.

1. jzbass6

jzbass6 One Nation Under A Groove

I'm looking to purchase a mic for my home studio primarily to record bass, mostly RnB, Funk and Smooth Jazz. So I'm looking for a mic that will allow me cover: slap, old school fat and round, Reggae etc. These 4 mic's are in my budget so I'm looking for some help making a choice. I have checked the forum threads and gleaned some info from them.
    Heil PR40?
    Audix D6?
    Shure Beta 52A?
    Akg D112?
    Thx

2. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    DON'T get the AKG 112. They make kickdrums all sound like a cardboard box. What they do to bass cabs isn't worth describing. Muffled clack, with some barf and thud thrown in would be as close as I can come.

I wouldn't recommend the D6 for bass cabs, either, though they're an excellent drum mic. I just didn't like the lack of detailed mids I got out of it when I tried. They don't sound awful for bass, they just don't sound all that great, either IMO.

I don't have personal experience with the Heil PR40, but I know others think highly of them. I have no experience at all with the 52A.

I've had extensive experience with the D6 and D112, though, and that experience tells me that D112s are a waste for anything besides metal kickdrums, and the D6 is a great mic for floor toms and kickdrums, but not much else.

Have you priced an EV RE20 or PL20, or Sennheiser MD421 (a great mic all-around in the studio) used? It would be well worth looking into.

3. PR40: the most balanced sounding. Slight thickness in the bottom.