1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Australian bassist heading to US - where to go?? (advice needed)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bass349, Mar 12, 2008.

1. Hello fellow TBers,

A long awaited trip is finally in its planning stages for me to relocate to the US to pursue a career as a session/freelance bassist. I'm planning for the end of next year - it's seems like a while away now, but I’m sure it'll creep up on me really quick!

To give you a bit of background I’ve studied at the conservatorium over here, starting in the contemporary music course, and moving onto the Ba Jazz. I never finished the Jazz course - I took a year off, and have been getting too much work to really justify going back.

I'm currently in Perth, WA. Life is pretty good, I teach and gig for a living and the money is good, the lifestyle is great - so I can't complain really! I've always had this goal to have a crack at the session game is the US though, and I feel that if I don't do it now then I’ll look back in 10 years time and regret it!!

Basically my question is - what cities do recommend checking out? I have a rough plan to do a bit of travel first - check out LA, NY, Nashville, Vegas.. all the places where I’ve heard (and read.. on here!) have a pretty happening scene and where there's lots of work. When I find a place where I feel I can settle and get some work, then go from there.