Avatar 210 or 112 for my situation?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SirPoonga, Mar 4, 2005.

1. SirPoonga

Jan 18, 2005
    I'm a beginner bass. I preorderd one of behringer BX3000T blemish stock from zZounds. I was looking at getting a small combo amp to learn on but then I saw that price :) So now when that comes I will need a small cabinet.

Would the 210 be better for an all around cab for a beginner than the 112?
    I should probably get the 8ohm version of whatever cab I decide on in case I want to add another cab in the future.

Would one be better for a 5 string bass over the other?
  2. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

Given your questions and needs, I'd say the SB112 (8 ohm) would be the way to go fo' sho'. The 1x12 is more rounded than the 2x10 especially if you are going to make the move to 5 strings. You can always add the 2x10 for extra punch in the future. The 1x12 is damn loud too (louder than you think). Again, get the 8 ohm if you plan on buying another cab in the future (another 8 ohm). This will bring the total load down to 4 ohms (the best your head can do) while maximizinf wattage.
  3. RedVette

Jan 1, 2005
    Medford, OR
    Talk to Dave at Avatar. Based on his recommendation, I bought the 212. It is full range and is not much bigger than the 210 or 112. I am driving the box with an Ashdown MAG 300 which is about the same power as the Behringer.
  4. SirPoonga

Jan 18, 2005
    Yep, that's why I was thinking 8ohm.

I might, in the future, build one of these http://www.billfitzmaurice.com/plans/product_info.php/products_id/3

I talked to the maker and he's a bassist and uses that. Would be a fun DIY project.

As cool as a 212 would be, I need something that can fit in my closet while not in use. I also want something that can fit in my compact car so I can play over at some friends. And since I am new to bass I don't want to spend too much money right now. Hence why I am looking at the 112 or 210.