Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by blipndub, Apr 2, 2003.

1. Some guy just emailed me after I purchased a B212 on ebay asking me what I thought. Here are my comments. Will post more after rehearsal tonight.

-blip
    I'm still getting used to it and I have a new Mesa Walkabout that I'm still learning about too. Tonight's my first band rehearsal with it where I'll be able to push it a bit. I can follow up once i play with the band, but for first impressions it's a great cab. Very well built, like really, extremely solid no rattles or cheap construction. My Mesa's running at 175 at 8 ohms and it's very loud through this cabinet, lots of bottom (it's ported) and good clarity due to the tweeter (that has a gain control), solid midrange as you would expect from 12s. So far I'm not finding anything missing frequency wise and am not in need of an additional 15 or 210 or something.

I'll let you know how it holds up tonight at higher volume than i can play at home

As far as Avater, customer service was great. I won the auction and the owner/builder called me the next day and we talked about exactly what I wanted and i had it by the end of the week. I'm on the west coast and he's in ID so it's not hard, but he turned it around in a day. I'm really happy to have gone with a small independent builder rather than a giant like SWR or Ampeg - feels like money well spent.

2. neptoon

neptoon

Jul 25, 2000
    summerville, sc
    hey, cool...another washington guy. those avatar 212's look really cool.

3. Just got home from work and my new B212D was waiting for me. Looks great, and Dave is the best!! He gave me a great deal as a repeat customer. Unfortunatly I won't be able to try it til the end of the week when my pre-amp shows up. I'm really looking forward to it!!!:bassist: :bassist: :D Later!

4. neptoon