1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Average price for shipping a bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fearlessdane, Feb 22, 2008.

1. fearlessdane

fearlessdane

Aug 29, 2005
    Portland, OR. Los Angeles, CA.
    Endorsing Artist: Ampeg, Fender, Ernie Ball
    I've had no experience with shipping a bass, so I was wondering what the average price usually is for shipping a 5 stringer (Standard delivery). Also if anyone knew which company typically has the best rates, I would appreciate it. Thanks guys.

2. velocraig

velocraig

Nov 1, 2003
    NE Georgia
    I have had the best luck w/ FedEx Ground.
    No damages...ever. 100% delivery on time.
    Quick delivery (usually a day quicker than UPS ground, IME) and about 20% less $ than UPS or USPS.
    My shipping costs have been in the $15-17 for a bass in a gig bag/boxed to $20-23 in a case/boxed.

3. rufus mangler

rufus mangler

Oct 10, 2007
  4. CraigG

CraigG

Mar 14, 2006
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Most likely Fed Ex or UPS. I have had issues with both, but that's life. Ship it yourselve via home pickup (see their web sites to create a free account). Avoid going to a UPS Store or similar 3rd party shipper as they tack on fees just to touch an item. Providing you can pack it well yourself, you'll save money shipping from your home.

5. rduckwor

rduckwor Nashville Cat Supporting Member

Jun 14, 2007
    L.A. - Lower Alabama
    FedEx Ground - $25.00 for a bass shipped in a case. Much less for gig bag shipments. Avoid the Brown Truck at all costs.

6. tmw

tmw Gold Supporting Member

Oct 17, 2006
    Delmar, NY
    +1. I just shipped a Fender 4 string w/gig bag for $17 (weighed 12 lbs. IIRC) and Fender 5-string in Gator GL Case for $27 (weighed 19 lbs.)

7. Warpeg

Warpeg Supporting Member

Jun 20, 2005
    Ohio