1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

B-52’s 1st Guitarist: The Late Ricky Wilson

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Dr. Cheese, Dec 12, 2018.

1. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis

I was an undergrad at the University of Georgia when they achieved “underground success.” I never saw them live, but their music was everywhere. Ricky Wilson has a very basic style, but he had rock solid rhythm and often was the pseudo bassist in what was a bassless band until they became mainstream stars with Love Shack. I just felt like mentioning Wilson since I have been listening to a lot of B-52’s today.

AaronVonRock, Robus, JimmyM and 11 others like this.
  2. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Once the B-52’s started using touring bassists, they picked really good ones, first Sarah Lee and now Tracy Wormworth (The Waitresses and Sting.)

JimB52, JJR58, GregC and 1 other person like this.
  3. Basshappi

Basshappi

Feb 12, 2007
    Tucson,AZ
    Love the B-52's!
    Been awhile, I need to remedy that.

SirMjac28 likes this.
  4. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    I watched this in its entirety on YT...then I bought it.
    The drummer is taking no prisoners.

Inky13 likes this.
  5. OldDog52

OldDog52 Gold Supporting Member

Jan 1, 2011
    Any thread about the B52s deserves two Rock Lobster videos.

SirMjac28 and Supadope like this.
  6. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    The neat thing is that this super tight drummer took over on guitar after Ricky Wilson died.

james condino, Flooflox and GregC like this.
  7. bass12

bass12 Say "Ahhh"... Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada