"B" strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by LumpyGravy, May 19, 2002.

1. LumpyGravy

LumpyGravy Guest

May 8, 2002
    I seem to have bad luck with LOW "B" strings. I have been using Carvin strings for years. I do like their sound and playability. I recently have had problems with their B strings. They have a bad habit of breaking while installing. I have addressed the company. Their response was free sets of strings. This did not solve the problem. The replacement sets still had faults. I have tried D'Addario, which I will NEVER use again. Similiar problem, but response was nil. Screw them. I do not play them like a ravaged animal(sometimes). This is a relatively new problem. I have been playing 5 stringers for 11 years and 6 stringers for 6 years. I have found that LaBellas are durable. I am not a picky person when it comes to strings, but I have grown quite accustomed to the Carvin thing. I was just wondering if this is a scenerio for other bass players, and would like to hear some feedback. THANX
  2. Showdown

Showdown Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I've never broken a string in 26 years of playing, and I've been using Carvin strings on my Yamaha 5 string for 4 years with no problems. How do they break while installing? Where do they break, at the taper?
  3. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    yeah, where are they breaking? your bridge saddle might be set too high.
  4. LumpyGravy

LumpyGravy Guest

May 8, 2002
    Actually the strings have broken at both ends. Mostly at the saddle, but the part that breaks is right where the wheel is. I've had them break at the machine head end, right between the tuners and nut. I am aware of saddle height. I also sanded the saddles in case there were burrs. It's a mystery to me. Good thing I have a 4 string because I can still use my freebies. Thanx for your help.
  5. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member