Back and shoulders

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CAM, Mar 14, 2003.

1. CAM

Mar 10, 2003
    mongo's house
    This will probably be moved by a moderator (but i wasnt sure where to put it :)

Has anyone else noticed over the years a difference in their left and right shoulders due to playing. My left shoulder is slightly larger than my right one, from having the strap on.

I went to a back doctor and found out that because of this i have a 3 degree bend in my spine!!!!!!! AAHHHHHHHH!!!! its not that bad thou. its fixable and should be gone in a years time but sheesh what a drama.

Just wondered if anybody else has experienced something like this.

2. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    That's the usual effect of strap on as i understand it ;)

sorry, couldnt help it.

anyway, no i dont think i have back trouble. what bas are you playing? How much does it weigh?
    JT on here plays some double necked monster that weighs about 150lbs or something, and i thought my 5 string p bass was heavy! :eek:
  3. CAM

Mar 10, 2003
    mongo's house
    I actually dont know how much it was but porbably somewhere between 8-10 pounds, so not that heavy really
  4. My Five string is probably only 20 pounds.... My back is screwed up already tho.. I probably because of my bad posture have a 20 degree bend lol... :mad:
  5. Redhotbassist

Oct 19, 2002
    i dont think my shoulders are de-arranged or anything cos i have 3 fairly light basses, yeah
  6. CAM

Mar 10, 2003
    mongo's house
    A 20 degree bend!!!

Sheesh, and i thought i had it bad.

Do you get any kinda side effects from it, like tingling or pain etc?
  7. Don't worry I'm not a hunch back. I'm just joking I probably only have 3-4 degree ... My posture is always so horrible ... And I always have back pain pretty much.. And sleeping on an old uncomfortable couch makes it *so much better!:meh: *
  8. stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA