Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Back Pain - Bass related?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by AlexFeldman, Oct 26, 2000.

1. AlexFeldman

AlexFeldman

Jun 18, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    Hello all,

I've been playing upright bass for about 4 years. In the past six months, I've had one muscle in my back that bothers me, located on the right side just to the left of my shoulder blade. Has anyone experiencied this kind of back pain and traced it back to bass playing?

I'd say that my posture is pretty good (imitating pictures of Rufus Reid in _The Evolving Bassist_)... but I do play for 2-4 hours a day. Perhaps I should just go see a chiropractor?

Thanks...
    Alex

2. The short answer to ALL your questions is: yes.

Remyd likes this.
  3. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I'm a chiro and can at least throw a couple suggestions your way. I don't play DB but the position of the right arm is going to put some stress on what are called the rhomboid muscles which attach to the medial (toward the middle) shoulder blade. These are deep muscles so some good deep massage might be of value. The most common problem I see in that area is called a posterior rib head. Easily taken care of by a chiropractor. Good luck.