Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Back Pain?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by SomecallmeTim, Mar 2, 2005.

1. I've been having some pretty strong lower back pain in the last few weeks, and I know it's a common thing for people, but I'm only 20. I've been trying to get back into running and lifting (haven't done much of either since I was in high school) but when my back stiffens up getting out a chair, I get discouraged about it. I'm a college student, so it's not like I'm moving furniture all day long or something.

So, have any of you dealt with back pain that you couldn't figure out a cause for? What did you do and how did it work out?

2. Edwcdc

Edwcdc I call shotgun!

Jul 21, 2003
    Columbia MD USA
    You should really pay attention to what your sitting on and you posture. If the way you sit when you're studying or working at the computer leaves your back stiff when you get up, you might want to change it. Make sure you are sitting up straight and not reaching. Also take breaks. Also a good mattress is important. Depending on the type of pain you have it is good to do some stretching each day. You might also be wearing shoes that are bad for you. That's a start.

3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Yep, I had this problem. It was because I was getting fat. I never realized until my doctor explained to me the tremendous pull of gravity on your lower back if you have a gut. After I thought about it, I realized he was right. I lost the weight, and my back stopped hurting. Did wonders for me knees too.

I'm not saying you're fat, but you did mention you stopped lifting and running. Have you put on any weight in the stomach area recently?

-Mike