Back to bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pudgyhands, Apr 16, 2004.

1. Hey folks, I'm new on the board, so be gentle, it's my first time :)

I used to play bass for about a year in high school. Unfortunately, circumstances forced me to put it asside (I was young and stupid and decided football and grades were more important :bawl: Too bad for me that the bass guitar wouldn't have blown out my ACLs :meh: ). Anyhow, time passes, I graduate from college, come home to be a teacher, and decide, "Hey, it's time to make music again." But, it turns out my family gave my old bass away without mentioning it :mad: . So, I'm in the market for a bass.

I'm going for a MIM Fender Jazz Bass, and I've found a store that I trust. However, when I was trying out guitars, they only had a Standard Jazz V and a Standard Jazz 4 fretless in stock (both within my price range). I know the V is probably not a good idea for starting back up with, but how about a fretless? I can actually play my old arpeggios with reasonable acuity (for not having played 'em for a few years) on the fretless, and it sounds and feels like a really solid insturment (I don't think this particular MIM is a dog). Should I go for it, or should I just ask 'em to order me a fretted Fender Standard Jazz bass and be done with it?

Oh, and another quick question: they had a really swank feeling and sounding and looking bass--a Hammer Velocity 25, for about $600, US. Haven't been able to find squat on Hammers. Anyone with any thoughts on that?

Pudgy Hands
  2. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    I would "UP the Price" a little and Get a Lakland 44-01 or 44-02 (used) and IMHO they are a Thousand times better than a MIM Fender (or ANY FENDER) and arent too expensive, The quality of the Lakland Basses is FAR superior to many basses of a higher cost...
  3. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL