1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Bad Back need to make S15D lighter

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Mikefish07, Apr 12, 2006.

1. Mikefish07

Mikefish07

Apr 6, 2003
    I've been using a BagEnd S15D for a couple of years now and I've been very happy with it. I've developed a bad back and need to cut down the weight of my equipment or give up playing. I really like the size of the S15D and was hoping that I could cut down the weight by putting in a Neodymium speaker. Can anyone help me with the following questions:
    1) Does BagEnd make a neodymium speaker replacement that I can put in the S15D?
    2) What are the specs for the stock speaker in the S15D? and
    3) Will a Eminence DeltaLite 2515 or Celestion BL15-400 work as a lighter speaker replacement?
    Thanks in advance for any feedback.

2. KJung

KJung Supporting Member

The bad news about the Neo cabs is that much of the weight savings is due to not just the lighter magnet of the neo speakers, but the lighter wood that can be used since the cab doesn't need to support all weight of a regular speaker. I'm not sure how much weight just swapping out that 15 for a Neo... especially that you will only be impacting a single speaker/magnet versus a multiple magnet/speaker cab. (I'm pretty sure Bag End does not make a neo speaker, but I'm sure you can find an Eminence Neo replacement).

I would highly recomment checking out an Epifani Neo112UL.... it won't be quite as mid punchy as your Bag End, but it's small and REALLY lightweight, and will be as loud or louder with the same wattage.

Good luck.

K

3. wolfs

wolfs

Jan 18, 2006
    nyc
    1) Definitely no (and no indication that they will in the near future)

2) Specs are here: http://www.bagend.com/bagend/s15-d.htm