Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bad DR string - how common?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by leanne, May 15, 2003.

1. leanne

leanne

May 29, 2002
    Rochester, NY
    My bass has been buzzing terribly, and the setup guy looked at it today, and said (among other problems) one of the strings is bad. And you can see it, it wiggles funny.

He also said that when he does a setup for people who insist on using DR strings, he won't guarantee that they'll be happy with the setup, because he's encountered so very many bad DR strings. He was encouraging me to try a different brand.

I have no intention of changing brands, but it isn't cool to waste a brand new string. As far as I know, I've never gotten a bad one before this, but maybe I just didn't realize.

Are bad DR strings really that common?

2. I've bought 5 sets of DR strings since i started playing, four sets of Lo-Rider .50-.110 and one set of Lo-Rider .45-.130. Only problem I ever had was when I broke an E string while tuning back up from C. I trust DR implicitly, and unless I have a very bad experience I won't do.

Techs can be biased like everybody else.

3. I have tried DR's in the past with poor quality as well. I asked my luthier about them and he said he has seen more bad DR's than any other brand. Since I did not care for the DR's I tried this did not effect my decision to not buy them anymore...

4. secretdonkey

secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I think I've read some DR propaganda that has endorsing players sing praises like "amazing string to string consistency."

Pppfffffft.

IME, DR isn't really better or worse in this regard than other strings I've tried. I don't think I've gotten a 'dead as a doornail' string out of a DR set yet (I use Fatbeams), but they haven't been "amazingly consistent," either...

YMMV

5. 20db pad

20db pad

Feb 11, 2003