Bad Habits - Finger Technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SeedyBloke, Mar 9, 2002.

1. Hi all.

I've been playing bass now for over 4 years and have been self taught. This has proved to be a bit of a problem as I have picked up a really bad habit. Whenever I play fingerstyle i.e. pretty much all of the time, i don't alternate my fingers evenly when plucking and tend to 'rake' with one finger when changing strings (especially when going up from A to E).

Has anyone got any advise to help me stop doing this like counting 'middle, index, middle, index' etc.. Would be much appreciated. Cheers.
  2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY

What you describe isn't really a problem in a playing situation - it's only a problem in that you don't feel that you have a system down. Do you play with rest strokes or free strokes? With free strokes, alternating over string crossings is not a problem. With rest strokes, it's a little more complicated but can still be done.

I would make several suggestions:

1) Get a teacher who can work with you on your technique.

2) When you practice, use that time to be aware of how you're doing what you're doing. Come up with a technique you want to work on (such as alternating fingers over string crossings, etc.) and work on it relentlessly and unforgivingly. Don't practice things you already do well; opt instead for things you want to improve.

3) Get a teacher who can work with you on your technique.

4) Record yourself playing as often as possible, and listen for areas where your technique is holding you back. It's a lot easier to be objective when you aren't in the position of trying to play and judge at the same time. And recordings don't lie unless you make them.

5) Get a teacher who can work with you on your technique.