1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Badass Bridge II: Should I file saddles or not?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by selks, Mar 4, 2008.

1. selks

selks

Jul 28, 2006
    Hi everyone,

Sorry if -
    i) this question has been asked before. I'm only a newbie so please bear with me.
    ii) this question is in the wrong section...

But I have a dilemma. I have recently purchased a Badass Bass II bridge and have heard conflicting opinions about whether to file the saddles in or not.

Can I get away with not filing them? Your opinion on this would be great.

Great to be part of the Bass Playing community! :D

2. Flizzy21

Flizzy21

May 13, 2007
    I never filed the saddles on mine, i was planning to but was lazy and just put the strings on quick so i could jam with my friends. When i was playing the strings weren't moving around or anything and it sounded great so i just left it.

After months of playing and changing strings and stuff they kind of filed themselves and its all good now anyway

3. Sadowsky

Sadowsky Commercial User

Nov 1, 2000
    New York City
    Owner: Sadowsky Guitars Ltd.
    You must file them. The contact point is too flat without filing an angled groove. You also need to lay out the string spacing. If you just use the natural line of the strings on the Badass, the string spacing will be too narrow.

Roger

4. lowbass68

lowbass68

Feb 3, 2008
    You maybe can get by without filing, but I can't. I play near the bridge a lot and pluck hard. With out filing the strings move on me. The notch does not have to be that deep, just enough to keep the string in place. A small tri-angle shaped file works well.

5. leftybasswtf

leftybasswtf

Mar 1, 2008