Bailed on running sound

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by RichSnyder, Oct 19, 2021.

1. RichSnyder

RichSnyder Columbia, MD Gold Supporting Member

Jun 19, 2003
    I have been running sound for a group of friends for a little over two years and decided that I'm kinda done with doing that. I like the guys, but basically it's an all day of work for me, load out, load in, set up, sound check, run sound, tear down, load out, drive home, unload, drive home, home. They get to play and have fun for ~ 3 hours or so. So, I'm working and often wasting a PTO day if it's an earlier weekday show. The band is a five piece and the money goes into a band fund to pay for community gear or whatever. That's fine, we've all agreed to it and it's not uncommon around here. But, they undercharge for a 5 piece, full PA, lights, and sound guy. It's often $250 or $300 for a night. $300 is what you charge for two fools on stools or a solo acoustic set. So, I'm doing this as a favor for them but since they're charging so low, I'm really wasting an entire day or evening to basically work for free for the venue. I already told them that I'll finish out the next two gigs we have on the books and then I'm finished. One will be outdoors but the last one will probably be indoors in a more vaccine hesitant area. So I'm not entirely thrilled about that one.

2. DirtDog

DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    One of the least satisfying musical experiences for me over the years has been as an essentially volunteer/low compensated sound guy. It’s a thankless job at the best of times. I politely decline when asked these days.

3. RichSnyder

RichSnyder Columbia, MD Gold Supporting Member

Jun 19, 2003
    When they're doing band introductions and skip over me, yeah that probably factors into the decision as well.

Geri O, bobalu, J_Bass and 9 others like this.
  4. Swipter

Swipter

Sep 7, 2009
    Phoenix